Funding Period:
  • 2016-2019
  • 2020-2023

Research Area A: Molecular basis of selective autophagy

A01 Structural investigation of the interaction of domains involved in autophagy and their regulation by post-translational modifications Volker Dötsch  &
Stefan Knapp
A02 Systemic analysis of autophagy degradome Christian Behrends
A03 BAG3-mediated selective macroautophagy and its modulation Christian Behl
A04 Regulatory interplay between autophagosomal and endosomal pathways Ivan Dikic
A05 Regulation of autophagy by deubiquitylating enzymes Anja Bremm

Research Area B: Functional characterization of selective autophagy

B01 Autophagy in ribosome biogenesis and quality control Stefan Müller
B02 Autophagy in the cellular response to genotoxic stress Petra Beli
B03 Evolution of autophagy and role in aging and development Heinz D. Osiewacz
B04 Crosstalk between autophagy, apoptosis, and mitochondrial dynamics during development and tumorigenesis Christian Pohl
B05 Protein engineering of sensors and modulators of autophagy Andreas Ernst
B06 Mitophagy induction by the mitochondrial unfolded protein response Münch Christian

Research Area C: Selective autophagy in human disease models

C01 Autophagy as a host defense mechanism against bacterial infections Ivan Dikic
C02 Regulation of autophagy in pathogen-induced and sterile inflammation Liliana Schaefer
C03 Crosstalk of autophagy and inflammatory signaling pathways during acute intestinal inflammation Florian Greten
C05 The selective autophagy receptors p62 and CBL in normal and malignant hematopoiesis Christian Brandts
C06 Deciphering the role of autophagy in activated B cell-like diffuse large B cell lymphoma (ABC-DLBCL) Thomas Oellerich  &
Hubert Serve
C07 Molecular targeting of autophagy in glioblastoma Simone Fulda  &
Donat Kögel

Scientific service project

Z01 Quantitative autophagy proteomics platform Christian Behrends  &
Petra Beli

Research Area D: Mechanistic regulation of selectivity and flux through autophagy networks

D01 Molecular mechanisms of membrane remodeling and fusion during selective and bulk autophagy Claudine Kraft
D02 Role of GABARAP and ATG9 in the cellular adaptation to altered lipid metabolism and membrane trafficking Andreas Kern
D03 Deubiquitinating enzymes in selective autophagy Petra Beli  &
Anja Bremm
D04 Selective autophagy in proteostasis maintenance Christian Behrends
D05 Molecular principles of ER-phagy pathways Ivan Dikic  &
Gerhard Hummer
D07 Selective autophagy of mitochondria and peroxisomes in organismic aging and development Stefan Eimer  &
Heinz D. Osiewacz
D08 The mitochondrial unfolded protein response and mitophagy Münch Christian
D09 Structural characterization of domain-domain interactions in autophagy Volker Dötsch

Research Area E: Selective autophagy in human diseases

E01 Regulation of autophagy upon Legionella infection Ivan Dikic  &
Mike Heilemann
E02 Selective autophagy network in diabetic nephropathy Liliana Schaefer
E03 Molecular functions of WDR45/WlPI4 in ferritinophagy and neurodegeneration Tassula Proikas-Cezanne
E04 BAG3-mediated selective autophagy in neuronal protein homeostasis and neurodegeneration Christian Behl
E05 Exploring epithelial cell mitophagy as an inducer of adaptive immunity Florian Greten
E06 Autophagy regulates drug response in activated B cell-like diffuse large B cell lymphoma Thomas Oellerich
E07 Molecular mechanisms of WDR24-induced autophagy: Role in AML proliferation and survival Hubert Serve
E08 Targeting selective autophagy in acute myeloid leukemia Christian Brandts  &
Stefan Knapp
E09 Organelle-specific autophagy pathways in regulation of cell death Sjoerd J. L. van Wijk  &
Donat Kögel

Special projects

Z01 Quantitative proteomics and integrated systems biology Münch Christian  &
Gerhard Hummer  &
Ivan Dikic
Z02 Chemical and genomic screening Alexandra Stolz  &
Manuel Kaulich
Z03 Imaging and quantitative organismal biology platform Stefan Eimer  &
Mike Heilemann Georg Speyer Haus Institut für Molekulare Biologie Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz The Max Planck Institute of Biophysics Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg